Prism Awards
Presented By
The 2016 - 2017 Prism Award Judges
Uri Abrams
Amy Eskilson
Inrad Optics, USA
Jason M. Eichenholz
Open Photonics, USA
Uri Abrams is President of PD-LD Inc., the leading manufacturer of photonic components, proprietary and patented Volume Bragg Grating® optics, wavelength stabilized diode lasers and single longitudinal mode laser systems. He has served the photonics industry for over 15 years in many leadership and senior management roles. He also most recently spearheaded the development of PD-LD’s award winning dual laser system LabSource. Prior to joining the photonics family, he held multiple leadership positions in high-volume industrial sensor manufacturing spaces, with responsibilities including general management, strategic planning, financial management, risk management and IP portfolio management. Uri holds a BSME, MSME and an MS in Operations-Financial Management from Drexel University.
Amy Eskilson is President and Chief Executive Officer of Inrad Optics, manufacturer of exceptional crystal materials and high precision optics. An advocate for localized manufacturing, she is focused on delivering unique products with extraordinary optical specifications. Prior to joining the Inrad Optics team Amy spent 18 years with Thorlabs. During her tenure at Thorlabs she was also involved in photonic start-ups Nova Phase, Menlo Systems, Inc. and Idesta Quantum Electronics. Amy currently serves on the Optical Society Board of Directors. Prior to discovering optics and photonics Amy received her BA degree in Communications and spent several years in New York at McCann-Erickson, the worldwide advertising group.
Jason is CEO and Founder of Open Photonics. He is an Experienced Technology Development Executive, Technology Scout and Open Innovation Practitioner. He started OPI because he saw a chasm between garage inventors and academic researchers who wanted to see their work commercialized. Prior to starting OPI, he served as the Divisional Technology Director at Halma PLC responsible for supporting open innovation & technology, strategy development for the Photonics Division as well as other divisions / companies inside Halma. Prior to Halma, Jason was CTO for Ocean Optics and Dir. of Strategic Marketing for Newport and Spectra-Physics. Jason has been actively involved in laser and photonics research and product development for more than 20 years.
Randy Heyler
Ondax Inc., USA
Marc D. Himel
JENOPTIK Optical Systems, USA
Gisele Maxwell
Shasta Crystals, USA
Randy Heyler is President and CEO of Ondax, Inc., the leading manufacturer of high-performance Volume Holographic Grating (VHG) filters and wavelength-stabilized laser sources. He has nearly 30 years of leadership experience in the photonics industry, most recently with Newport Corporation, where his responsibilities included general management, technology planning, strategic and product marketing, OEM business development, branding and product positioning, and industry trade and technical association leadership. He was a founder and VP of the Photonics Packaging and Advanced Automation Division at Newport. He also spent 10 years with Spectra-Physics. Randy holds both a BSME and an MS in Engineering Management from Stanford University.
Marc D Himel, a Business Development Manager with Jenoptik Optical Systems, brings 25 years of photonics experience to advancing the application of micro-optics to solve complex system’s issues in semiconductor manufacturing, material processing, and other commercial applications. Prior to joining Jenoptik, he worked in the design and development of advanced EUV and DUV lithography systems at AT&T Bell Labs and SVG Lithography Systems, and as a Product Manager at DigitalOptics Corporation. He received his BS degree in Physics from the California Polytechnic State University, his PhD in Optical Sciences from the University of Arizona, and an MBA from the University of Connecticut. Dr. Himel has more than 46 published papers and one patent.
Gisele Maxwell founded Shasta Crystals in 2006 (she is also CEO and Director) to commercially develop crystals grown by the Laser Heated Pedestal Growth technology. Since its inception, Gisele has raised over $4M in equity investment and over $1.5M in NSF grants. She serves as CEO and Dir. of Shasta Crystals. She then served as a postdoc at Stanford University in the Byer/Fejer group in the Ginzton Laboratories. Gisele worked for two companies where she successfully took nonlinear crystals to market, Crystal Technology Inc. and Silicon Light Machines. She has served as a consultant regarding Czochralski growth for Koike Corporation, Crystal Technology Inc., and Photonic Materials (Scotland). She has also consulted for New Focus Inc. and for Silicon Light Machines. Gisele is a Technical Grant Reviewer for the National Science Foundation and a Reviewer for the Journal of Crystal Growth.
Jason McClure
Princeton Instruments, USA
Craig Milne
Stream Technologies , Canada
Linda Smith
Ceres Technologies, USA
Jason McClure is the Chief Scientist at Princeton Instruments, a producer of high performance CCD, ICCD, and EMCCD cameras; imaging spectrographs; and optics-based solutions for the scientific research, industrial imaging, and OEM communities. Jason joined Princeton Instruments in 2008 where he acts as a thought leader and innovator with a focus on developing new and disruptive technologies while leading engineering teams to bring new ideas to fruition. He is author of several domestic and foreign patents in optics and photonics. He received his Ph.D. in Physics from the University of Nevada Las Vegas with an emphasis on high pressure condensed matter physics.
Craig Milne is President and co-founder of Stream Technologies Inc. Stream produces a unique class of spectral imaging devices, confining all of the optics into a lens-like attachment to convert almost any monochrome camera to multispectral. At Stream, he oversees all product and business development activities. Craig is an entrepreneur at heart and has been involved in three new venture companies. As a member of SPIE, he holds a PhD in Immunology from the University of Toronto and an MBA in Finance from the University of Alberta. Craig also serves as a mentor and business advisor through the University of Alberta as well as to the banking industry.
Linda Smith is President of Ceres Technology Advisors, an investment banking firm focusing on photonics technology enabled businesses. She has more than 20 years’ experience identifying market opportunities, developing, managing, and financing growth for public and private companies (optical components, lasers, analytical instrumentation, medical devices, end-users in pharmaceuticals and semiconductors). She held executive product marketing positions at venture capital funded companies commercializing integrated optics and MEMS technologies. Linda holds BS in Optics and Mathematics from Univ. of Rochester, MBA from Babson College, plus an Accredited Sr. Appraiser in Business Valuation and Series 79 Registered Investment Banker.
The Prism Awards are Presented By