Prism Awards
Presented By
Join the Prism Awards 10 Year Celebration
2018 applications due 6 October  Learn more
2017 Winners
2017 Prism Award Winners

Crystalline Mirror Solutions
Leica Geosystems
Nufern - Coherent
QD Laser
Rapid Biosensor Systems
TruTag Technologies
2017 winners were announced
this past February at the 9th annual
Prism Award gala held during
SPIE Photonics West
, in
San Francisco, California, USA.

2017 presenters included Edgar Auslander, Oculus Research; David Bohn, Microsoft Hololens; Sarah Boisvert, Fab Lab; Louay Eldada, Quanergy; Basil Garabet, NKT Photonics; Vincent Mattera, II-VI; Michelle Mihevc, FATHOM; John Ryan, WireTheWorld; Katharine Schmidtke, Facebook.
Join us for Prism 2018.
2018 Call for Entries
New Application & Process in 2018

What does that mean?
In an effort to make the Prism Awards more accessible (to more companies & products), we decided to have you, the applicant, choose where your product fits.

You will choose a technology area (out of 16) and your target markets (more than 25 to choose from). Plus, there are additional questions to help you best explain your product.  See the complete list of questions on the Application Page.

Why now?
In January 2018, SPIE and Photonics Media will hold the 10th Annual Prism Awards. We have come a long way since 2008. This year, we will change up the application, expand the promotional opportunities for participants, as well as recognize finalists, winners, judges and presenters from years past.

Learn more

Application opens 16 June 2017.

Deadline is 6 October 2017.
2018 Judges
2017-18 Prism Award Judges

This group of expert judges will devote many hours to review more than 150 applications for design and technology; novelty and innovation; need, market opportunity, and impact. Two rounds of scoring, expert external judging, and a final review will highlight the top 3 finalists in 9 categories.

Many thanks to the following 2017 judges who've made donations to SPIE altruistic activities:

Amy Eskilson, Dave Osborne, Ferechteh Teherani, Jason McClure, Jian Liu, Ken Kaufman, Laura Smoliar, Linda Smith, Marc Himel, Mickey Frish, Ray Johnson, Ryszard Romaniuk, Uri Abrams.

Questions or comments about the Prism Awards, email
The Prism Awards are Presented By